Adding a login (user) for each of your team members that need access to the platform is a great way to ensure everyone has the right level of access for their role. After all, you can create as many different users in our platform as you wish.
Additionally, you can easily remove a user login if a staff member leaves. This is much better than sharing a single login or password, which goes against security best practices.
Only Owner or Full Access users can edit user and user access levels.
Understanding Access Levels
Access Levels make it easy to assign a predetermined permission level to a user login. We've outlined the different access levels below. Before we begin, here's a few things to keep in mind:
- Access Levels work in a cascading effect; any access available on a lower permission is also available to permissions above it.
- The Owner is automatically assigned Full Access.
- The permissions hierarchy is as follows: Owner > Full Access > Standard Access > Limited Access > Reports Access
Access Level: Owner
- This is the owner of the account (there can only be one)
- This is the highest access level available
- Can view account status
- Can delete the account
- Can pause the account
- Can transfer account ownership
- Can access account security (including the ability to set IP restrictions)
- This access level also has all of the permissions of Full Access
Access Level: Full Access
This user has full access to all features of the account, including the ability to add additional users, pause the account and change account settings. Only a Full Access user or owner can create API keys and setup integrations.
- Can create (add) users
- Can assign access levels to other users (except the Owner)
- Can edit users
- Can access account history (such as usage, payment history & invoices)
- Can access branding areas (such as virtual hosts, branding & custom domains)
- Can access Deliverability settings
- Can access account security settings (if enabled) - but not the ability to set IP restrictions
- Can enable or edit Message Approvals
- Can setup & access Integrations and API keys (including API access levels)
- Can enable, add, edit or remove Sender Profiles
- Can setup Sender IDs for SMS
- This access level also has all of the permissions of Standard Access
Access Level: Standard Access
This user has the ability to use all of the features of the account, but has no access to change account settings. Lists, forms, Automations, SMS and Messages can all be created and sent by a Standard Access user.
- Can access account options (including history)
- Can download data from the account
- Can access lists & forms (including create new lists)
- Can access contacts (including viewing contacts, upload / add contacts, unsubscribers, duplicates, bounces and block lists)
- Can access messages (including quick send SMS, as well as sending SMS & email messages)
- Can access automations & advanced automations
- Can access reports (including automation reports)
- This access level also has all of the permissions of Limited Access
Access Level: Limited Access
This user has the ability to design and create forms, design messages and templates but not complete a send or view contacts. Limited Access users are able to send up to 10 test messages per hour for review and testing purposes.
- Can access lists and forms (including view lists, view/create/edit forms)
- Can access messages (including create/edit/delete emails and SMS messages)
- Can create and edit templates
- Can send up to 10 test emails per hour
- Can access Litmus Inbox Previews
- Can access files & images
- Can search
- This access level also has all of the permissions of Reports Access
Access Level: Reports Access
This access level can review report details but not specific contact information. They can make a payment and can access the Account overview data.
- Can access reports (including current sends)
- Can view send-reports
- Can access account details section to make a payment, buy SMS credits & buy email test credits
- Can provide feedback
API Keys & Access Levels
API keys can also be assigned access levels - reflecting the same various permissions as shown on this page.
To add, edit or delete users, please see our separate guide.