Upload Contacts Follow

This article will detail bulk uploading contacts into the system.

  1. Import Contacts
  2. Bulk uploading a File
  3. Copy & Paste contacts
  4. Editing list fields and options
  5. Advanced upload options

Importing Contacts

Select Contacts from the left menu 

Contacts_Menu.png

Then, select the 'Import Contacts' button.

2018-04-16_11_13_58-Contacts01.png

There are 3 import methods available, Upload a file, Copy and Paste or From other Apps.

Looking for our help articles for uploading From other Apps?

Uploading a file

Upload_file_option.png

Please note: File size limits apply on uploaded files - CSV, TAB, TXT files: max 10mb and XLS, XLSX files: max 3mb

Begin by selecting Upload a file, you are then able to select whether to add contacts to a new list, or an existing list. Uploading contacts into an existing list will update matching contacts by default. Alternatively, you are able to upload to a new list, this will create corresponding fields for the new list from column headers, or you can create these yourself. 

Add_List.png

Selecting Add New will allow you to enter a name for your list, you can then select the file you wish to upload. Select Browse, navigate to your file and click Open. Your file will then be Uploaded and Analysed, you will be then shown a summary of your contacts and the headers. To finalise the upload skip down to editing your list and options.

Copy & Paste Contacts

Copy_and_Paste_Option.png

You are then able to select whether to add contacts to a new list, or an existing list. Uploading contacts into an existing list will update matching contacts by default. Alternatively, you are able to upload to a new list, this will create corresponding fields for the new list from column headers, or you can create these yourself. 

Add_List_existing.png

Copy and paste your list of contacts into the supplied box, you can include column headers in this list as these will be used for your field names. Select Next to edit your list fields and finalise the upload.

Editing list fields and options

After you have added your contacts via File Upload, Copy & Paste or via Other Apps, you will be presented with a screen to customise field names, types and set advanced options for uploading.

You are able to edit each field by selecting the arrow next to the required header, and selecting Edit. From here you are able to update the name of the field, as well as the field type. If the column is not required, simply select Skip this column to have the system ignore the column during upload.

Edit_Field_Dropdown.png

Please note: If your file includes column headers, you may need to navigate to Advanced Options to enable the File includes header rows, this will prevent your header row being uploaded as contact.

Contact_Upload_Select_Fields.png

Once you're happy with your list data, select Finish Importing to finalise the process. A screen will detail the number of new contacts as well as uploaded contacts. If your plan pricing has changed due to the number of contacts uploaded, you will need to confirm via a checkbox you understand billing may change as a result of the upload.

Confirm_Billing.png 

Advanced Options

Advanced_Options_Existing_List.png

During the contact upload process you have the ability to change the options on how data is treated during upload.

File includes header rows: Ignores first row of data for upload purposes and renames existing field names to the header row

Update existing Contacts on a field: If a contact exists, use this field to match the contact before updating.

Ignore existing Contacts based on a field: If a contact with this field matches the upload data, do not update.

Do not upload duplicates within this import based on a field: If a contact exists where this field matches, do not upload. This does not have to match the update settings.

Country code used for Mobile Phone Number: SMS messages sent from the system with use this country code.

Do not upload previous unsubscribers:

  • All of my lists: contacts will not be uploaded that have previously unsubscribed to any list
  • This list: contacts will not be uploaded if they have previously unsubscribed from this list, but will be uploaded even if they have unsubscribed from any other list.
  • Upload as is: contacts will be uploaded regardless of previous unsubscribes

If an address has permanently bounced: 

  • Deactivate the contact: Contact will be uploaded but will be deactivated and not be able to sent email or SMS messages
  • Do not upload the contact: Contact will be ignored and will not be uploaded
  • Upload as is: Contact will be uploaded as an active contact and ignore previous deactivations

Back to top

 

Upload Report:

Once your upload is complete you will see this report. It will state if all contacts were uploaded correctly or not. You can also download the report of contacts that did not upload correctly to fix any errors and re-upload.

Summary_Upload.png

Back to top

Was this article helpful?
5 out of 5 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request